Welcome Dear Guest

To create a new topic please register on the forums. For help contact : manager@dentistrytoday.info

Currently, there are 0 users and 1 guest visiting this topic.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Clinical EfficiencyEarly in my career, my boss, a pediatric dentist, taught me a profound truth.  He said, “Linda, every child who comes here has one thought in mind when they sit in our dental chair, ‘When can I go home to Mommy?’ “   As a dental assistant, a dental hygienist and as a practice consultant, I have learned that this is true of ALL patients no matter their age.  You may have good relations with your patients, however, the bottom line is that they would rather be out of your office as quickly as possible. Improving your clinical efficiency IS good customer service.

Here are four paradigm shifts which will improve your clinical efficiency:

1. Organize, set up and keep to the plan.  Angela Clayton, EDDA, is our team’s clinical efficiency expert. Her recommendation is: “Use preset procedure setups. Use sterilization bags or cassettes to create procedure-specific set ups. Be sure to include bur blocks for each procedure set up with the specific burs or diamonds for the procedure.”  Bring in a tub with the items for the procedure such as cement or impression materials. Keep very little of your supplies in the treatment room. Set up the sterilization area with dedicated spaces for hygiene, composites, crown preps, etc. Stick to the plan without breaking into other setups to grab this or that. Be sure the tray setup has what your dentist needs.

Action Step: Take time to clean out drawers in operatories and store items in the sterilization area. Set up tubs with essentials for each procedure. Keep instrument sets complete.